My Genes Ride The Short Bus

Compared to my dad’s DNA, my genes are the ones with the hockey helmets.  Mom might claim her genes are superior to Dad’s.  If that is true then it is possible my DNA, even as a hybrid of the two, is still better than Dad’s material alone.  But if you could model the best of my mom’s DNA and the best of my dad’s DNA and come up with the ideal hybrid of Mom and Dad, the likelihood is that I’m physically worse than that.  The potential for a downgrade is great.

The Theory of Evolution has an obstacle in DNA replication.  About every 10,000 times a strand is copied, an error is produced.  While I’d personally like to achieve that kind of accuracy in my typing, when you consider that the human body has between 10 and 100 trillion cells with all but the red blood cells containing DNA, the potential for flaws is nearly guaranteed.

We’re talking about errors, not improvements.  In theory a replication error could result in an improvement in the strand, and that is how evolution is supposed to work. However the vast majority of what we actually observe, and indeed the overall trend, better supports a theory of devolution rather than evolution.

In fact not a single beneficial mutation has ever been documented.  For all of the complex species that exist there should be billions of beneficial mutations that have already occurred, and thousands occurring that are observable now.  Instead what we find is that our very DNA is devolving into chaos.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “My Genes Ride The Short Bus”

  1. tonyisnt Says:

    Evolution isn’t defined by improvements; it’s defined by changes. It just happens that the changes that end up with a larger representation in the gene pool are improvements because the negative changes hinder survival, thus these genetic changes eliminate themselves.

    This is explained quite well and at length in The Blind Watchmaker by Richard Dawkins.

  2. Kent Says:

    My genes are better than yours.

Leave a comment